top of page

"Why it's okay to take the small-town gig"

"If you'd like to learn more about our endless opportunities is Omaha, Nebraska, feel free to contact us." - said no one, ever.

Not exactly. That quote was actually the close of a presentation my junior year in college. A presentation I didn't feel I needed to pay much attention to because there was no way I was leaving Atlanta for West Bumba. Funny how times work though, because not even two years later I'd be prepping for an interview in you guessed it, Omaha, Nebraska. And it was a decision that changed my life. I owe a lot to Omaha, I found new friends turned family, myself, and most importantly God.

Now I know what you're thinking, wait this girl just got saved? Lol so I'll start here first. The answer is yes and no. I accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior many moons ago but there's something like living for God without any adult supervision that's totally different. You see the beauty of a small-town, especially when you're new, is that it's super easy to find your focus. Literally my first weekend in Omaha it was -4 degrees (I have proof lol) and I still made it to church! I found the church as an intern and stayed in touch once I took my full time offer. It was perfect because I didn't have any outside influences to distract me and had a pastor and First Lady to hold me accountable! The more active I was the more I learned and was able to have an authentic relationship for myself. In those couple of years in Omaha, God began to use me in ways that can never be replaced, for that I am forever grateful.

And then I found myself. Sure, this is probably something we all begin to discover in our twenties and mine happened in the corn fields! (Just kidding, Omaha is pretty civilized). But I found a lot out about myself, things that I'm passionate about, my love languages, even the ugly stuff. I learned how selfish I was in the past, how bossy, etc. I had days where I could go home and just reflect. In the early stages it was just trying to understand what I was doing there, adjusting to being new and alone, and single. I'd just moved from Atlanta so I had no clue where to start with activities. But with time, things came naturally. While in Omaha I was a leader at my church, Big Sister for the Big Brothers Big Sister's program, a basketball referee (bet you didn't see that coming), member of the Urban League of Nebraska Young Professionals, and a number of organizations within my company. I mean I was BUSY, right there in little ole Omaha! I went skiing, I picked apples, went to pumpkin patches, got stuck in the snow (this was not so fun), goodness this list could go on for days but you get the point. I made the best of it and before I knew it that "small-town" wasn't so small after all.

I even got to reap all the small-town benefits! For my millennials this may be something you guys look over too quickly when job hunting. You see, I had an apartment in the middle of downtown blocks away from nightly entertainment and festivals for maybe half the big city costs. So what does that mean? That means when you and your big city friends are planning trips, you may find yourself a bit more open to splurging that week. Simply because the costs of living are so different. I mean really, once I relocated I almost died at the price differences. For African Americans, just when you lost hope in meeting people, you realize how many others in that city are just like you! The different young professionals organizations I was a part of was a major plus. The majority of them relocated for work and others were local but open to new people and experiences, it was great.

That brings me to my last and final point, I made SO many friends. They're actually more like family, and had it not been for this "small-town" it may have never been possible. We were able to buckle up and literally weather the snow storms together. These friendships are necessary to your survival so remain open to them. When you relocate for your first job after college it's almost like freshman year again. So be sure to find a solid peer group and stick with it! We did everything together from Sunday Fundays, brunches, birthdays, road trips, all that good stuff. And it was refreshing! We were there for each other during lows like breakups to highs like promotions and pay raises. And even though after a couple of years most of us relocated we still keep in touch each day. Guess what that means? I have like 10 more couches to sleep on when I travel!

All in all, I know that the small-town gig may not be the most attractive at first glance but like that recruiter said years ago, the possibilities are endless. Give it a shot, even if only for a little while. You won't regret it.

It's not fact or fiction, just my opinion. -Kandi


bottom of page