top of page

Pageant Time: Describe Your Perfect Date

"That's a tough one... I'd have to say April 25th, because it's not too hot, not too cold. All you need is a light jacket." - Miss Rhode Island (Miss Congeniality 2000)

In a day where twitter goes to war at least once a month about dating I thought I'd share my views, who knows, it may help someone.

First let me start by saying, I am a woman, a southern one. I believe that if a man asks you out it is assumed that he has a plan for the night (or day), he picks you up, and unless communicated otherwise he pays the bill. That's just my take on it and I'm so glad that at least until I post this, I don't have to debate it. LOL! I do believe in a thing called communication and I understand that all circumstances aren't the same. But to be honest, some of my favorite dates were free, or at minimal cost. So, here's what I call my recipe for a perfect date:

1. Be creative- because every date doesn't have to cost $200 (for my twitter warriors) but if that's your style rock with it. There's so much more to a date than dinner and a movie. You can go to a concert, sports event, community service, museum, something that'll help get the conversation going. Now granted if you haven't known each long, reserve time for a sit down but don't limit it to just that. One of my favorite dates ever was to the Jack Daniel's Arts Beats and Lyrics event in Atlanta. Surprisingly on that date I realized how much we had in common. Both lovers of arts, music, and brown... (I'm working on that lol). It was just a good time.

2. Be your authentic self- because being anybody else is way too hard to keep up with. Now, I know that there are some interesting people in the world and giving all of you in one setting might be a bit much, but why not? I mean sooner or later they're going to get to know you anyways and it's much better to get the awkward phase out of the way. Allow them to choose you, the real you.

3. Be open- because, if not why'd you come? The craziest thing to me is for someone to entertain the idea of "new friends" and then have "trust issues". Like c'mon, you know Drake's lyrics, it doesn't work that way. Once you extend the invite or accept the invitation, I feel like by that time you've already made up your mind that you're interested. So why not give this guy or gal a real shot?

4. Be intentional- because, because, because. No really, because it's my buzz word and in the world of dating I believe it should be yours too! State your intentions, why are we here tonight? What are you looking for? Is this casual or is there another plan? Whatever the case may be state it. You don't want to leave the date with assumptions. That's where things get all icky.

4. Have fun- because, that's kind of the point.

I don't think there's any one right way to date but I do believe it serves a purpose. It's a time to finally tests your true interest. It's a time to learn about someone new and even more about yourself. I find it to be healthy, and necessary. Forget all those why nots, and remember the reason why. You might mess around and fall in love! Good luck :)

It's not fact or fiction, just my opinion- Kandi


bottom of page