top of page

We Let Our Guard Down


You have to be TWICE as good as them to get HALF of what they have”. – Papa Pope (Scandal 2014)

I’ve been trying to put words to the situation of what’s currently going on in Ferguson, or the death of my cousin Ramarley Graham (2012, Bronx NY killed by NYPD), or the senseless murders that continue to claim the lives of the community I hold dear to my heart and it’s been a struggle. I keep asking myself how did this happen? When did this happen? Poverty, drugs, racism, they’ve always existed but what is causing this outbreak in my generation? After I thought about this long enough I’ve come to the conclusion that we’ve let our guard down. America, we’ve let our guard down. Communities, we’ve let our guard down. Parents, we’ve let our guard down. Schools, we’ve let our guard down. BLACK PEOPLE, WE’VE LET OUR GUARD DOWN.

Somewhere in the midst of being uncomfortable all of our lives we let ourselves get too comfortable. We became so consumed in what we believed the world owed us that we forgot what we owe ourselves. We stopped holding each other accountable and began turning the other cheek. Well at least until these horrific events began to slightly wake us all up.

Somehow we’ve become so frustrated that we forgot what world we lived in. In a perfect world we could be mad, stomp our feet, and “yell that’s not right” and people will apologize for the pain that they’ve caused us all along. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but this world is far from perfect and it’s time to put the violin away. As good as it sounds some people’s hearts will never be warm enough to feel sorry for your tears. Now here is the good news, you come from a culture of people who were treated just like you. You have a community of people who can relate to the pain and together you can find strength in the struggle or at least that’s what we should be doing. It’s time we take control of our community once again.

When I was growing up parents didn’t care about being your “friend”. They cared about your safety, your health, and your heart, whatever it took to protect those three things they did. You went to church without an option until you were old enough to understand your own way. You came home before the street lights were on, you missed any sleepover that involved a house they’d never been to, etc. I can’t speak for everyone but my mom didn’t care about me being comfortable and my freedom, she cared about me being ALIVE and having everything she didn’t. Our youth doesn’t see that anymore, we’ve let our guard down.

I’ve said once before I do not believe there is a manual to parenting but I do believe it takes a village to raise a child and right now we are that village and we have failed. We have neighbors that look away when kids skip school, big brothers selling dope to their sibling’s friends, music artist discouraging education, preachers scared to talk to or about their own communities, and parents that do not demand respect. Black people we let our guard down. We’ve been so caught up on what the outside could do to us that we have neglected arming our young people with what it takes to protect themselves. At a rally yesterday for the Ferguson/Mike Brown incident a man said “one organization can not change this but organized people can”. So here is my challenge lets organize, people.

What’s in the armor?

1. Church- Church is the glue that holds the black family together. If church is supposed have all the answers then that is exactly where our guidance should start when living in a society where we do not necessarily fit in. Challenge your pastor to speak about the adversities of the bible as it relates to your life, then let him bless you with the good news to come!

2. Family- When all else fails black people, young people, BLACK MEN know that we love you. No matter who mistreats you, says that you have no value, rest assure that you have a community that will love the HELL out of you literally if we need to.

3. Respect- We have to learn to live and exist not afraid but “wisely”. The lack of respect for elders, authority, etc in this generation is at an all time high . The lesson needs to be taught that in the REAL world, you DO NOT have to get respect to give respect. My black men I love you but do not scream “fxck the police” and assume that there is no consequence, do not give them that power.

4. Education- The one thing no one can EVER take from you.

We let our guard down, we’ve seen the results, lets make sure it doesn’t happen again.

Now Mr. Police Man, my hands are up so please don’t shoot, but now my guard is too and I refuse to continue

bottom of page