top of page

Are We Prematurely Entitled?


To be a boss… in our generation that’s everyone’s dream. Corporate America spends hours of classes, research sessions and just simple conversations to understand these little creatures they call the Millenials. All the while we’ve spent our childhood days preparing for our twenties just say “Corporate America is not the place for me” Why is that? After all these years of running multi-million dollar industries are we saying that our ancestors had it all wrong? Or are we just running from direction because we’re scared it will alter our creativity?

Growing up we were the reward babies, we got certificates for EVERYTHING! Think back to elementary track meets and field days, even when you lost you still went home with a trophy and pat on the back for participation (and they wonder why we’re so entitled lol). Our parents had become our closest friends and good Lord they praised us for clapping our hands in church! So we’ve always looked for approval whenever we wanted to do anything. We’ve also created the need for an incentive whenever we did anything. I guess that’s why we adore social media, we have strangers telling us just how amazing they think we are. Mentally we began to operate by the motto “for every action there’s a reaction” in our favor of course.

I take the trash out, I deserve an allowance. I buy pampers for my child, I’m father of the year and I deserve gifts and recognition to all man kind. I went to college, give me a job that pays a million a year. Or even better, I have an idea now you must invest in me. Not only do we demand this but anything less will cause an outrage.

Let’s take it a bit further, what about the respect we demand as people in our “prime”? When walk in a room we want to be respected as a level headed, adult, tax paying, law abiding citizen with a plan to change this world. But what time have you put in to what it is that you’re doing? What makes you the next big thing? Did you even research what you were getting into or do you just dive head first into something that may not even need fixing. Now I’m not in anyway discouraging or discrediting the intelligence or creativity of our generation, I’m only suggesting that homage be paid. The lime light is not the only success story in this world, I couldn’t begin to tell you how many times I’ve said that. I’ve also had the everlasting debate with classmates and friends about how we fit in corporate. I agree corporate may not be for everybody but don’t knock what you’ve never tried. Remember for my college students, someone from home told you the same thing the day you enrolled. All I’m suggesting is that if given the opportunity to learn from someone who’s been there before you take it!

So let’s start now. Be good to people, open doors even if you’re not asked to, and when asked “what can you do for me?” have an answer. No more storming out of interviews when quizzed on things about the company you didn’t know, or fuming because you have to be an intern first. Instead find purpose in the process, and be forever grateful.

It isn’t fact nor fiction, just my opinion! -Kandi

bottom of page