top of page

What is life without your 9-5?


Crazy because generations before us would probably say, home, family, resting for the next work day. Not millennials! As a matter of fact, for us our life is everything outside of the 9-5. I mean clearly, I'm typing up a post at 10:30pm after having a full day in the office. The beauty of it is, it's my passion! Like the saying goes "our parents lived to work, millennials work to live". Today I was asked how, so here we are :)

Now I will say, I've always been into extracurricular activities so staying busy outside of work is natural for me. Growing up I played sports, did community service, student government activities, worked and anything else my twenty four hours would allow. And although I may not be that same ball of energy anymore, I still find a way to feed that craving to live anything but a boring life. Here's to five things to do outside of your 9-5!

1. Passion Project- So let's start here, since as of June 26th I officially have two! Yep that's right, allthingskandi.com has a sister, my new podcast Save the Date Show! (Yes that was a shameless plug, check out my cohost Imani and I!) Both of them are healthy releases for me. It's my way to unplug from the world while staying completely connected. They're both my children! They feed my creative side and reveal new things about myself each day. Find that for you! Whether it be blogging, cooking, working out, painting, whatever the creative release is, do that. Do it often, honestly it helps with your life balance. And hey, if you're not getting paid for it yet just remember it's less pressure!

2. Faith Meal- Listen, I don't know about you but for me and mine... God is so necessary. Spending time with him privately and corporately are important to me! I'll be honest and say I have not been as active in the church lately as I would like but I'm working to correct that. Especially in my twenties, to be involved and interacting with other young adults who just love Jesus is pretty cool! It keeps you honest, helps you grow and reminds you that you're not alone. Some good suggestions here would be to join your local church's young adults ministry, get involved with small groups, volunteer on Sundays, and for ladies check out Pinky Promise! It's a great organization put together by Heather Lindsey, check out her site and see if it's a fit for you.

3. Give Back- Service to people is always a quick way to keep busy. The service can be done in lots of ways; mentoring, volunteering at local shelters, soup kitchens, anything! And to be clear, this one actually isn't about you at all, it's about them. Yeah you may get some warm and fuzzies inside, but remember you aren't blessed for your pleasure, God blesses you to bless someone else. One of my favorite activities would have to be being a Big for the Big Brothers Big Sisters program. My little was such an amazing little girl! She was so smart, and funny, I seen a lot of myself in her. I will forever be grateful for our experiences and time to connect. I can't wait to see the young lady she blossoms in to!

4. Be Social- Friends, how many of us have them? It's so easy to forget to be social when you're working full-time. In reality it's something you NEED to make time for. Whether it's chatting with your family, participating in different organizations, or just joining online clubs, it helps! As long as you remain social, you'll always be learning because no one's the same. Hang out sometimes, whatever the work is, it'll be there when you get back.

5. Love a little- because in Moma Dee's voice, YOU DESERVE!! Lol it's okay to open up to someone, even with your busy work schedule. If the attraction is there and it's meant to be, you'll make time.

It's not fact or fiction, just my opinion. -Kandi

bottom of page